markstein

We cultivate authentic brand stories

that broaden awareness and drive revenue

Who we are

Every business has a story. At Markstein, our story is simple: strategy matters. We are a strategic communications agency performing across Public Relations, Marketing, Digital Influence, Creative and Crisis with Strategy driving all aspects of our work.

A laser focus on our clients’ business goals informs our targeted strategies that deliver compelling messages through verbal and visual platforms and digital and traditional media channels. We bring brand stories to life while broadening brand awareness, driving revenue and creating sustainable competitive advantages for our clients.

We take our work seriously, and so do our clients. More than just a partner, our talented communications team serves as proud brand advocates committed to unmatched levels of service founded on professionalism, responsiveness, proactive thinking and dedication to achieving results.

What we do

We seamlessly integrate public relations, marketing, digital influence and design to broaden brand awareness and influence behavior among increasingly-competitive markets and hyper-connected, diverse audiences.

Our approach is driven by proactive, measurable strategy and is centered on compelling messages that engage specifically-defined audiences. Creating noise and flash around a brand, especially without purpose towards a clearly-defined strategic goal, is ineffective and often counterproductive. In times of crisis, it can be fatal.

Our strategies are mobilized through proactive outreach that controls the message, influences perceptions, engages audiences and effectively drives behavior towards desired strategic outcomes. This is how we use strategic communications to secure competitive advantages.

Public Relations

Marketing

Digital Influence

Creative

Crisis

Strategy

We engage and influence

targeted audiences with compelling messages

Project Details

We were charged with modernizing AutoTec’s website while staying true to the company’s history and culture. We art directed and combined new photography with vintage photography into refreshed web design elements and functionalities to achieve the company’s vision for its new web presence.

Website

autotec.com

Project Details

After developing messaging for Clayton Homes’ Gen-Now Concept House and its Smart Points we conducted media outreach to increase awareness and generate excitement about the House in advance of, onsite and following the 2014 Berkshire Hathaway Annual Meeting. We secured media placements with the Associated Press, Bloomberg Businessweek, CNN, Fox News, as a feature story on Yahoo!, among others.

Website

claytonhomes.com

Project Details

We successfully introduced Eat Here Brands’ Babalu Tacos & Tapas restaurant to the Birmingham, Alabama market, generating awareness both locally and regionally through message development, event management, media relations and digital influence. We organized a 3-day soft opening for the restaurant and increased its Birmingham digital following on Twitter by 5,100 percent, Facebook by 1,026 percent and Instagram by 211 percent.

Website

eathere.com

Project Details

We developed a trending hashtag, #WaffleWager to promote a football game wager (Alabama vs. Texas A&M in 2013, and Auburn vs. Georgia in 2014) between Royal Cup Inc., Waffle House and C.H. Guenther & Sons for free waffles and coffee. Our digital campaign resulted in 280,090 organic engagements in the first 48 hours and generated 262 stories in its initial year.

Website

royalcupcoffee.com

Project Details

We worked alongside Shipt as they successfully launched their on demand grocery delivery app in Birmingham. Leading up to the launch, we developed and implemented a grassroots digital influence campaign focused on nurturing brand champions throughout the city. As a result, 1,000 customers signed up for the service during a 30-day pre launch campaign.

Website

shipt.com

Project Details

We conceptualized and designed a visual identity system for Spoon & Ladle Soup Co. Visual brand components were created based on the messaging platform we developed and included a logo, business cards, digital imagery and other print collateral items. We designed an interactive website for which we art directed all photography and wrote all copy.

Website

spoonandladle.com

Client Snapshot

Our Team

  • Alan Alexander, Senior Associate
  • MarksteinHeadshots_0106
  • lexi
  • Chandler Dunn, Markstein Associate
  • KyleEdit
  • christy
  • baileyedit
  • Markstein_Beth Headshots_20160405edit
  • allison
  • lyndsey
  • emily
  • LynnEdit
  • danny
  • eileen
  • chris
  • Markstein_Will Headshot_20160405edit
  • whitney
  • susanann
  • keelie
  • anna
  • julie
  • nicoleedit

Alan Alexander

Senior Associatealan@markstein.co

Kelsey Barfell

Manager, Web Analytics and Developmentkelsey@markstein.co

Lexi Blackburn

Managerlexi@markstein.co

Chandler Dunn

Senior Associatechandler@markstein.co

Kyle Erickson

Directorkyle@markstein.co

Christy Evans

Directorchristy@markstein.co

Bailey Fuqua

Manager bailey@markstein.co

Beth Hamer

Director, Media Planning and Buyingbeth@markstein.co

Allison Lavender

Senior Managerallison@markstein.co

Lyndsey Lewis

Directorlyndsey@markstein.co

Emily Littleton

Graphic Designeremily@markstein.co

Lynn Lowe

Manager lynn@markstein.co

Danny Markstein

Managing Directordanny@markstein.co

Eileen Markstein

Managing Directoreileen@markstein.co

Chris McCauley

Directorchris@markstein.co

Will Moore

Business Managerwill@markstein.co

Whitney Northcutt

Senior Graphic Designerwhitney@markstein.co

Susan Ann Roper

Associate Directorsusanann@markstein.co

Keelie Segars

Associate Vice Presidentkeelie@markstein.co

Anna Unkenholz

Manageranna@markstein.co

Julie Wall

Vice Presidentjulie@markstein.co

Nicole Wyatt

Associate Directornicole@markstein.co

Buzz